Bring a Buddy to the Next Union Meeting! – June 29th – 12-2pm

The details for the next General Membership Meeting will be as follows:
Date:  June 29, 2017
Just a reminder that our GMMs are on employer paid time (the two hours must include your regular lunch).
Reminder: in order to pass business and elect officers to the executive a quorum of twenty-five (25) must be met.
If you have any questions or comments please call the union office at 2×1494 or Karen directly at 2×1478.
Guest Speakers: Betty Jay and Catharine Chang – Coaching @ UBC
  1. Roll Call of Officers
  2. Adoption of Agenda
  3. Adoption of Minutes of May 25, 2017
  4. Business Arising from the Minutes:
  5. Nominations for CUPE Local 2950 Executive (2016- 2018):
      1. Recording Secretary
      2.  Diversity Committee Chair
      3. Health and Safety Chair – Jed Cheng (nominated)
      4. Trustees (2) – terms ending in 2018, 2019
      5. Sergeant at Arms
The elections process will be as follows as article 12 (a – ii) of the CUPE 2950 By-Laws:
  • At each monthly GMM, the Chair will call for nominations for the vacant positions. When a nomination is received, the nominations will close at the next GMM and an election will be held if the position is not acclaimed.
    • Members nominated at the November meeting will be acclaimed at the meeting in January (we don’t meet in December) if no one else is running for the position.
    • If there is more than one person nominated for one position, there will be an election at the January meeting.
  1. Unfinished Business
  2. Executive Report – (Karen Ranalletta – President)
  3. Business Agent’s Report – (Frans Van de Ven)
  4. Treasurer’s Report – (Sean Park)
  5. Committee Reports:
  • Grievance Committee (Harry Young – 1st VP/Chair)
  • Contract Committee – (Susanne Lester – 2ndVP/Chair)
  • Health and Safety Committee
  • Communications Committee – (Siobhan Ryan)
  • Chief Shop Steward – (Jaimie Miller)
  • Education Committee (Maria Ho – Chair)
  1. New Business

Election of delegates to CUPE National Convention – October 2-6 – Toronto

  • Shehnaz Motani
  • Dal Gill
  • Rey Astronomo
  • Siobhan Ryan
  • Harry Young
  • Maria Ho