Commutes, eats and treats!

By Tanvi Prannoy Chawla

A warm welcome to all the new members and greetings to all the existing members of CUPE 2950, UBC. September marks the beginning of the Academic Calendar Year 2023-2024 and also an excellent time to share and refresh some housekeeping information related to Transit (commute), UBC discount cards and Food/drink joints.

Know your commute:  “With over 155,000 trips to and from UBC each day, encouraging more sustainable modes of transportation is key to meeting our sustainability goals”- Please refer to the following links for Maps, Directions and tours to various UBC Campuses-

All the links are helpful to know about the accessibility on Campus to plan the transportation. The latter link also helps get updates on construction and roadwork to make navigating campus easier. There is information for cycle lovers and walkers.

UBC Card: It’s not just a piece of ID; it’s a magic card granting access to-

  • UBC Library privileges
  • Building access and access to card-controlled rooms
  • UBC Bookstore e-Money purchases
  • Food Services’ dining convenience and discounts-
  • Meal plans for Housing residents
  • Athletics facilities

UBC Food Asset Map: Food is a fuel source. A healthy body leads to productive output, peace of mind and a happy tummy😊. There are various food ventures in and around UBC. Here are a few good links:

Open Executive positions

Please see our poster below for open positions on our CUPE 2950 Executive Committee.

Interested in joining a committee but not chairing? See our committee page here.

Interested in becoming a steward? Find out more here and contact the office at for more information.

Poster credit: Lisa Hoang

BBQ Recap Report – Point Grey – July 2023

Gratitude is the most beautiful way to express all that’s in your heart with two words Thank You“- Katrina Mayer, QUOTEDIARY.ME 

The CUPE 2950 Membership Appreciation BBQ successfully conveyed this message to all its members on July 20, 2023, at the Great Hall in the AMS Student Nest. This is one event where we all gathered together to celebrate our dedication, unity, achievements, belonging and gratitude for what we all do for the overall betterment of society. A few months back, our CUPE collective agreement was ratified and once again, on behalf of all CUPE members, I would like to extend our gratitude to the Bargaining Committee for their valuable time and efforts to make it happen for us.

This was the first time when I attended the CUPE 2950 BBQ, and I was amused by the music, food and happy vibes at the venue. I heard many praises about the potato salad from colleagues, and the first thing I filled my plate was the potato salad, which was worth praising.

Looking forward to more such events connecting beautiful and enriching minds and, above all, to be felt “Valued and Belonged.”

Thank you.

Tanvi Prannoy Chawla

Older posts «